A New Way to Walk

Okay, is it just me or does this song pop into anyone else’s head while they walk?

Moving on…

One of the things I wanted to accomplish with this blog was to share the ways I make it through my days working from home.  Sure, there are a lot of one-sided conversations with my dog (but does it count as one-sided if I reply for her in her own voice? #deepthoughts)…  The first thing I make every effort to do every day is go for a walk with my furry best friend.

Taking 20-60 mins every day to enjoy the outside world no matter how busy I get is crucial to me maintaining focus that keeps me productive throughout the day.  Katie (my dog) knows everyday at 3pm that a walk should happen, so she starts stalking me until I give in.

Here are some of my tips for a successful boss walking break:

img_6157

Walking to pick Daniel up from school – Katie gets so excited every. single. time.

  1. Bring your phone (just in case) but turn off your email notifications.  It’s okay, no one is going to think you’ve abandoned them if you don’t respond within a minute of the time they send you an email.  You respond to emails all day nearly instantaneously, this is your break time.
  2. Walking in silence and taking in the sounds of nature, the city, etc. is great.  I do this about half the time if I need a little while to mull over a problem (I find this has a similar effect as taking a shower when you’re stuck on a problem – The Eureka Effect).
  3. The alternative to walking in silence I enjoy the most is listening to my favorite podcasts, most of the podcasts I listen to tend to be creative entrepreneur oriented.  If I’m struggling to pull myself away from work to take the walk with my dog, downloading a new podcast usually helps.  Here’s what I’ve been listening to lately:
    1. Being Boss
    2. Girlboss Radio
    3. This American Life
    4. Radiolab
    5. Stuff You Should Know
    6. WTF with Marc Maron
  4. If you need a little more reason to get out your door, use your favorite fitness tracker to track the walk.  I personally love using my Apple Watch for this purpose.  It’s a great little motivator to keep on going and not just take the dog for a quick loop to do her business.
  5. You get to see actual people! In case you haven’t figured it out already, you can sometimes feel a little cut off from the world when you work from home.  Even if you don’t actually speak with anyone on your walk, simply walking somewhere with other humans around can really lift your spirits.

I know one of the thoughts you’re thinking is probably “I just don’t have the time!”.  We all know you don’t actually take a lunch break most days and you probably scarf a lunch down somewhere in your house with your pajamas still on (it can’t be only me who does that)…  You owe it to yourself (and your clients/customers) to take a break!  Seriously, you’ll be so glad you did.

“How do you make any event classy on a budget? Red carpet. My entire apartment is red carpet. On top of that, leading into my bedroom, a second red carpet. Oh, what’s this in my shoe? Red carpet insole. Everywhere I go, I’m walking on red carpet.” — Tom Haverford, Parks and Recreation #treatyoself

 

Leave a Reply

