All Is Not Lost

After taking 30 hours+ to process the news that we will not have a female President in the White House come January I thought I’d use this space as an outlet to convey my thoughts.

As a social media professional, I typically have a love/hate relationship with my job (don’t we all?).  I absolutely do not take for granted the fact that I am my own boss and that I get to share content on different platforms throughout the day every day for my clients.  That being said, this election has made my job… interesting.  I have been able to “tune out” most of the political posts because thankfully none of my clients share political content on their social media channels, however yesterday was different.

Yesterday, I woke up after one of the worst night’s sleep I’ve ever had, one of those nights where you can’t seem to shut your brain off…  I made a pot of coffee and proceeded to begin my work day like I usually do and then it hit me.  Every social media platform I logged into was full of the election and the fallout thereafter.  So many posts of disbelief as to how someone like Trump could be elected, posts filled with fear and anxiety about what is to come.  It was one day where I honestly could have just stayed in my bed under my covers and avoided the internet all day, where I could have shut out the world and pretended for just a little while longer that it was all just a nightmare and it would be over soon.  However, doing that would have been just delaying the inevitable and allowing myself to act similarly to the politicians I have grown so frustrated with – doing nothing.

It is with this frustration with the lack of action in Washington D.C. that I can understand the greatest positive take-away I can gather from the election results – Americans want change.  We want our government to be truly for the people (all of the people) and to work tirelessly to represent us to their fullest ability.  To represent us equally and not in favor of the wealthy few. Sure, there are many out there who are fueled by the hateful and xenophobic messages Donald Trump campaigned on, and that is terrifying.  However, it is also in desperation that we become most vulnerable and mixed in with these messages was also the message that he would “make America great again”.

Hidden amongst all of the status’ admonishing what they believe is to come, there were also subtle glimmers of hope in the darkness.  The ACLU donation pages of their website were brought down from the influx of donations to their cause, President Obama is making it his mission to protect Planned Parenthood funding for the years to come, and countless people and celebrities are coming together to share how to take this bad and find the good.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.

Martin Luther King, Jr.

As a woman I’m terrified of what’s to come and you better believe I am furious that in 2016 America has yet to shatter that glass ceiling and a woman has yet to be president…  I then took some time to remind myself that all is not lost (even if it feels like it) and I looked to one of my hero’s for guidance, Ms. Leslie Knope:

“I acknowledge that Donald Trump is the president. I understand, intellectually, that he won the election. But I do not accept that our country has descended into the hatred-swirled slop pile that he lives in. I reject out of hand the notion that we have thrown up our hands and succumbed to racism, xenophobia, misogyny, and crypto-fascism. I do not accept that. I reject that. I fight that. Today, and tomorrow, and every day until the next election, I reject and fight that story.” – A Letter to America from Leslie Knope

At the end of the day, Donald J. Trump is our 45th President.  We have every right to be angry, sad, scared, anxious, or however else we are feeling but (as shown by this election) we hold the power.  We create the change, this is but a pothole on that road to the change we are trying to achieve.

 

Leave a Reply

